Special Summons do not use up your 1 Normal Summon or Set for the turn, and can be conducted as many times as possible in a turn (both yours and your opponent's) and if generally referred to, a monster is Special Summoned in face up ATK or face-up DEF position, unless indicated by the card. Special Summoning requires no Tributes unless indicated by the card.

Cards like Giant Germ say that you are allowed to special summon from your deck, but if it says so, you can't special summon that card from your hand or graveyard.

If a monster requires an effect to special summon, first resolve the effect, then special summon it.

For example, if a card requires 3 monsters on the field to special summon, you must have 3 monsters first and you can not count the special summoned monster as the 3rd monster.

"Premature Burial", "Call of the Haunted", "Monster Reborn", "Soul Resurrection" and "Autonomous Action Unit" can all Special Summon monsters from the Graveyard. Thus, you can activate each card (provided you have enough Life Points) and resurrect five monsters, as well as conduct a Tribute Summon or Tribute Set in the same turn.

Fusion Summons, Ritual Summons and Synchro Summons are all considered Special Summon. However, Special Summoning a Synchro, Fusion, or Ritual monster, aside from its regular summoning method, is not considered to be "Summoned Correctly", thus disallowing it to be special summoned from the Graveyard. A popular situation where this ruling occurs is when "Starlight Road" is activated and special summons a "Stardust Dragon". If "Stardust Dragon" is sent to the graveyard, even its own effect, it will not be able to be special summoned back.